2023 Anthony J. MacKay Student Paper Contest

Each year CRPA’s Students and Young Professionals Committee organizes the Anthony J. Mackay Student Paper Contest in conjunction with the CRPA conference. The contest is open to all students enrolled full-time in a Canadian college or university program related to radiation sciences. From among the submissions, three finalists are selected and given the opportunity to present their work in a plenary session at the conference. These are this year’s finalists.


2022 Anthony J. Mackay Student Paper Contest Winners

Every year, CRPA’s Student and Young Professionals Committee organizes the Anthony J. MacKay Student Paper Contest. The 2022 contest was held in conjunction with the ICRP2021+1 Symposium in Vancouver, BC, in November 2022.Two prizes were awarded this year, one for the best overall presentation (international) and the best Canadian presentation.


Amendments to the CNSC Radiation Protection Regulations: Introduction

The amended Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) Radiation Protection Regulations were published in November of 2020. Following their publication, CNSC adopted a compliance promotion approach with licensees to allow them time to update their radiation safety programs. That period has now ended and all licensees must now meet the new requirements.

The July 2022 issue of the Directorate of Nuclear Substance Regulation (DNSR) Digest highlighted some areas where CNSC inspectors continue to see non-compliance with the updated regulations. We thought this would be a good time to remind Bulletin readers of the regulation changes.


Shared Experiences: Radiation Safety in Manitoba

Manitoba’s Shared Health and the Radiation Protection Services department of CancerCare Manitoba have a history of collaborating on radiation safety matters. As a result of recent changes in personnel and changing work patterns due to COVID-19, members of their respective radiation protection communities were eager to find ways the two organizations could create a concerted collective to serve as a robust resource in radiation safety in Manitoba. To that end, members of both organizations met in November 2021 to share presentations about their various roles and responsibilities.


2019 CRPA Award Winners / Lauréats 2019 de l’ACRP

Jeff Dovyak, who was CRPA president at the 2019 conference, presented awards to the following recipients: Jing Chen, Tony Waker, Joe Cortese, and Ali Shoushtarian / Jeff Dovyak, président de l’ACRP lors de la congrès de 2019, a remis des prix aux lauréats suivants : Jing Chen, Tony Waker, Joe Cortese, et Ali Shoushtarian.